selected boot device failed
Started by mehakrafiq


Rate this topic
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


59 posts in this topic
mehakrafiq
Junior Member
**


0
1 posts 1 threads Joined: Feb 2019
02-27-2019, 04:18 AM -
#1
So I followed the guide to create macOS Mojave as given in your video tutorial however when I select to boot using the USB, I get the following message:

"selected boot device failed Press any key to continue"

my pc specs are 
Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-26500 @2.00 GHz
Nvidia Quadro FX 1800
2x 500 GB SSD 
BIOS Mode Legacy 
BIOS Version Dell A11

I tried changing the BIOS from legacy to UEFI however, after restart it kept saying no bootable device found even with the USB connected. 
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qiZPw1s...sp=sharing

Secondly in the disk utility I don't see the EFI partition after installing clover on the USB
https://drive.google.com/file/d/11NxpVOs...sp=sharing

I am wondering will my system even allow a copy of macOS to run
Mark
hi my name is mark
*******


1
235 posts 8 threads Joined: Dec 2018
03-01-2019, 10:36 PM -
#2
Hey @mehakrafiq ,
Sorry for the late reply! Open Terminal and run the following code and send a
Code:
diskutil list
This post was last modified: 03-01-2019, 10:36 PM by Mark.
hi guys welcome back to my roblox tutorial.
rckid
Junior Member
**


0
29 posts 0 threads Joined: Mar 2019
03-02-2019, 04:56 PM -
#3
(03-01-2019, 10:36 PM)Mark Wrote: Hey @mehakrafiq ,
Sorry for the late reply! Open Terminal and run the following code and send a
Code:
diskutil list

Hey Mark, I'm having the same problem, could you be more specific as to what you mean by "send a", or is that a typo? 

By the way my built is the following:

Intel i7 7700k
Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Asrock z270 Pro4
XPG Adata DDR4 (4x8)
Mark
hi my name is mark
*******


1
235 posts 8 threads Joined: Dec 2018
03-02-2019, 11:00 PM -
#4
Strange, was supposed to say "send a screenshot". Do the same thing and, well, send a screenshot lol
hi guys welcome back to my roblox tutorial.
rckid
Junior Member
**


0
29 posts 0 threads Joined: Mar 2019
03-02-2019, 11:20 PM -
#5
[attachment=97 Wrote:Mark pid='242' dateline='1551589249']     Strange, was supposed to say "send a screenshot". Do the same thing and, well, send a screenshot lol
Lol, makes more sense. Here's the error:
[Image: 3?ui=2&ik=4b6d395059&attid=0.1.1&permmsg...U&disp=emb]
Mark
hi my name is mark
*******


1
235 posts 8 threads Joined: Dec 2018
03-03-2019, 12:18 AM -
#6
Looks like your BIOS isn't in UEFI mode?
This post was last modified: 03-05-2019, 03:22 PM by Mark.
hi guys welcome back to my roblox tutorial.
rckid
Junior Member
**


0
29 posts 0 threads Joined: Mar 2019
03-03-2019, 12:29 AM -
#7
(03-03-2019, 12:18 AM)Mark Wrote: Looks like your BIOS isn't in UEFI mode? Does your motherboard support it?
I looked around in the BIOS, and It’s enabled.

(03-03-2019, 12:18 AM)Mark Wrote: Looks like your BIOS isn't in UEFI mode? Does your motherboard support it?
One thing to consider is when configuring the install of Clover, not all of the options you had selected were there. I just selected the closest thing I could.
Mark
hi my name is mark
*******


1
235 posts 8 threads Joined: Dec 2018
03-03-2019, 01:14 AM -
#8
(03-03-2019, 12:29 AM)rckid Wrote: One thing to consider is when configuring the install of Clover, not all of the options you had selected were there. I just selected the closest thing I could.

Such as?
hi guys welcome back to my roblox tutorial.
rckid
Junior Member
**


0
29 posts 0 threads Joined: Mar 2019
03-03-2019, 10:48 AM -
#9
(03-03-2019, 01:14 AM)Mark Wrote:
(03-03-2019, 12:29 AM)rckid Wrote: One thing to consider is when configuring the install of Clover, not all of the options you had selected were there. I just selected the closest thing I could.

Such as?
The categories in general are different, instead of "Drivers64UEFI", I have "UEFI Drivers" and "BIOS Drivers, 64 Bit". So the options are spread out, but I don't have:
"apfs_patched", "OsxAptioFix2Drv" (I do have OsxAptioFix3Drv).
The options I do have are spread across all of the categories instead of just "Drivers64UEFI", under: "FileVualt 2 UEFI Drivers", "UEFI Drivers", FileVault 2 BIOS Drivers, 64 Bit", "BIOS Drivers, 64 Bit".

                       
Mark
hi my name is mark
*******


1
235 posts 8 threads Joined: Dec 2018
03-03-2019, 11:00 AM -
#10
Dude, you don't have "Clover for UEFI booting only" ticked. Follow the written tutorial completely.
hi guys welcome back to my roblox tutorial.


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)